Database, Fuppes, Weekly Summary

Before Uni Begins (Weekly Summary Five)

DOE (Digest of Events)

This week in the news:

  • The Fuppes Packaging effort is moving along slowly; nobody has chosen to sponsor it yet.
  • I have written a html Logic Tree drawing program and it works on all HTML versions.

Uni Comes Back

University starts up again this week and I am really looking forward to it; after all, I will be doing AI, OS and Haskell. I have actually done quite a bit of study already for these subjects. Unfortunately, it means that I will not be able to spend as much time as I usually do on extra projects. It does not mean that I will stop working on them but that I will be moving slowly instead.

Dvorak

They say that “Prevention is better than Cure” and I do worry occasionally that all of this extended work on the Computer may eventually hurt my hands. To prevent that scenario I am now learning to use Programmer Dvorak and learning how to Touch Type at the same time. It is proving to be rewarding already and, though I type really slowly, I can already type without touching the keyboard. And I have noticed that my speed is regularily increasing. I was so happy with the improvements that I went online and bought Programmer Dvorak Keyboard Stickers and when they arrive in the mail I fully intend on applying it immediately. (You may have noticed that this post is not as long as usual; this is why)

Fuppes Config

Uli has spoken with me and he does not wish to add another dependency to Fuppes by using SOCI. Fair enough. As a result he is currently doing some database work and I am going to work on getting the Fuppes config separated into multiple files. That way for each different device you use a different file; so sharing devices will become much easier.

Leave a Reply

